Will My License Be Revoked If I’m Arrested for Drunk Driving?
While you may have been warned about the legal consequences for driving under the influence, you might not be prepared for the many ways in which a conviction can affect your life. With this blemish on your criminal record, you may struggle for years after you’ve served your sentence, turning job hunts, signing a new lease, or furthering your education into uphill battles.
However, in the short term there are other issues you should worry about. Namely, losing your license. Unfortunately, in Florida, motorists caught driving while intoxicated will immediately have their driving privileges revoked, leaving them unable to get behind the wheel even while their case is still pending.
Florida’s DUI Laws
Alcohol can impair your driving ability drastically, so it’s no surprise that the state’s lawmakers have instituted serious penalties for those caught getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. Motorists cannot exceed a blood-alcohol (BAC) content of .08 percent, levels which can be gauged through breath or blood testing. Typically, officers will determine whether such tests are necessary by first conducting a series of field sobriety tests.
If such tests show that your BAC was at or above .08 percent, you could be facing serious penalties. Such punishments can vary depending on whether it’s your first, second, third, or subsequent offense, and whether there were any aggravating factors. For instance, if your BAC is particularly high, you caused an accident, or there was a minor present in your vehicle when you were arrested, the penalties could be increased.
First-time offenders, for example, may be ordered to pay up to $1,000 in fines, sentenced to six months behind bars, could be forced to perform up to 50 hours of community service, and have their licenses suspended for up to 180 days. However, it’s important to note that you will be stripped of your driving privileges the moment you’re arrested.
Thankfully, you will be able to use your DUI ticket as a temporary permit for the next ten days. During this period, you will likely have an opportunity to have your license reinstated by attending a hearing. Alternatively, you can waive your right to a hearing in favor of obtaining a hardship license.
As an attorney can help you retain your license, or help you apply for other permits, it may be in your best interests to reach out to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. Not only can he or she help you avoid mistakes such as missing important filing deadlines, but they can also help defend you against the charges.
Discuss Your Case with a Palm Beach Gardens DUI Lawyer
Were you arrested for driving under the influence? You might still be able to have your license reinstated. Attorney Todd A. Kawecki has many years of experience representing those who have found themselves on the wrong side of the law.
He understands the challenges you are facing, and—if you choose to hire him to handle your case—can work tirelessly to help you achieve a favorable outcome. Contact us today at 772-485-4500 or head over to our contact form HERE to request a free case review with a Florida DUI lawyer.