What are the Penalties for Solicitation for Prostitution in Florida?

Back to DUI / DUI Arrest Blog

What are the Penalties for Solicitation for Prostitution in Florida?

Thumbnail Image

In Florida, the gloves are off for anyone caught soliciting a prostitute. Not only do law enforcement officers conduct regular sting operations throughout the state, but lawmakers have also imposed strict penalties for those caught violating the law.

Punishments can range from community service, educational classes, and mandatory fines to jail time and lengthy probationary periods. In this article, we will look at some of these penalties in closer detail and discuss how an attorney may be able to help you fight your charges and avoid a conviction.

What Is Solicitation for Prostitution?

According to Florida’s laws, anyone who solicits, entices, induces, or procures another person to engage in prostitution is guilty of solicitation for prostitution. The person who is being solicited does not need to be considered a prostitute for you to be charged.

Criminal and Civil Penalties

Punishments vary based on whether you’re a first-time or repeat offender. If it’s your first violation, you could face up to a year behind bars, and fines of up to $1,000. A second offense, which is classified as a third-degree felony, could fetch fines of $5,000 and up to five years in jail. Additionally, your vehicle may be impounded or immobilized for up to two months.

If you’re convicted for a third or subsequent offense, you will face even harsher penalties. Not only are such violations considered a felony of the second degree, but you may also be ordered to pay a fine of $10,000 and sentenced to up to 15 years in jail. Your car could also be impounded for up to 60 days after your conviction.

In in almost all cases, you will be ordered to perform 100 hours of community service, attend a prostitution and human trafficking class, and complete an STD screening. You could also be barred from entering the geographic area where the offense took place for the duration of your probation.

Unfortunately, even if it is your first offense, you will still be ordered to pay a $5,000 civil fine on top of the other penalties listed here. However, just because you’ve been charged, doesn’t mean your fate is sealed.

A skilled criminal defense attorney may be able to attack these charges by dismantling the prosecution’s case against you. For example, your attorney might argue that you were entrapped or that the arresting officers made errors during the investigation.

Discuss Your Case with a Stuart, FL Criminal Defense Attorney

Beyond fines and jailtime, a solicitation conviction can have far-reaching consequences potentially affecting your ability to find a job, get further education, or rent an apartment. If you are facing such charges, turn to Todd A. Kawecki for guidance, advice, and representation.

Todd will pay meticulous attention to your case, analyzing every factor from beginning to end to determine the best strategy to use to fight the charges. His experience as a former prosecutor gives him a unique advantage when it comes to providing effective representation. To schedule a free consultation, reach out to us at 772-485-4500 or drop us a message via our Online Contact Form.

Share this post

Back to DUI / DUI Arrest Blog