What Are the Ignition Interlock Device Laws for DUI in Florida?Kawecki Law
If you’re arrested and charged for driving under the influence in the state, you will face harsh penalties. A conviction in your case will only add to your woes. Offenders usually lose their licenses, must pay steep fines, and, in many cases, are required to install ignition interlock devices (IID) in their cars. While these devices are commonly used across the country, it’s likely that you’re unfamiliar with exactly how they work.
In this article, we will explore some situations wherein you might be required to install an IID and how this device could affect your ability to drive.
How Do Ignition Interlock Devices Work?
You get behind the wheel, turn the key, but there’s now an extra step: Before the engine roars into life, you’ll need to pass a breath test. This is what life looks like with an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. To start your car, you’ll need to blow into the gadget’s mouthpiece and confirm that your blood alcohol levels are below the legal limit. If you’re above this threshold for sobriety, your car won’t start.
In some situations, you may be required to complete rolling retests throughout your trip. These tests can happen at random, and you will need to pull over and submit to a new breath test to continue driving. Modern versions of these devices are often fitted with a small camera to confirm the identity of the driver during tests.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this effective deterrent helps reduce repeat DUI offenses by up to 70%. However, for the driver, this device isn’t just an added hassle, it can also be a significant expense. The monthly lease for an IID in the state is between $90 and $150. Additionally, if you are convicted for DUI, it’s likely that your insurance premiums will increase.
Who Is Required to Install an IID?
Florida’s laws are incredibly specific about who must install an IID in their vehicles after a DUI conviction and for how long. Let’s take a closer look at the criteria below:
- First Conviction: You will only be required to install an IID if the court orders it. However, if you had a minor in your vehicle at the time of the arrest, or your blood alcohol levels were 0.15% or above, this device may be placed in your vehicle for a minimum of six months.
- Second Conviction: A minimum of one year. At least two years if you had a minor in the car or your blood alcohol content was 0.15% or greater.
- Third Conviction: At least two years.
- Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: A minimum of five years.
Find a DUI Defense Attorney in Port St. Lucie, Florida
If you were arrested for driving under the influence, you could be facing the long-term headaches and hassles associated with installing an ignition interlock device in your car. Todd A. Kawecki is a skilled Florida DUI defense attorney who may, depending on the circumstances of your case, be able to help develop a defense strategy to reduce your penalties, charges, or have your case dismissed.
We are available 24/7 to take your call. Dial 772-485-4500 or send us a message via our Contact Page to request a free consultation.